Programming language geek-out

Non-spam and Anime things that don't fit in C&C. Also where talk that you don't want to turn into spam goes. So No Spam allowed

Programming language geek-out

Postby Té Rowan » Sun Jun 08, 2014 6:15 pm

(Anyone in the future whining about necroing will automatically be flamed. The probability of said flaming being literal is, while small, non-zero.)

Why Python? Why not? I'm a beginner at Python, but I still managed to put together in a day or so a working program that slurps in author files grabbed from the-archive-that-must-not-be-named and spits out new ones in the old HTML4+Javascript form. I built a workflow around that form, y'see, that lets me update my library once a month with material from there.
A government is the only known vessel that leaks from the top. (James Reston)
Té Rowan
Prism Power Senshi

Re: Programming language geek-out

Postby Cheb » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:36 am

While I personally am averse of python, the general principle is this: Everything that mov.. gets the job done!

If it works for you, use it! Just be aware of its limitations. Every language does have its cap that won't allow your project to grow beyond some limits.

C++ is the best to utilize hardware resources, but it won't allow you making multi-platform applications without a Herculean effort.
Javascript is perfectly multi-platform but your program will never get out of the browser application ghetto.

And so on.

P.S. I love Javascript. It does have its share of weird mechanics, but overall it's the most free-form language I saw. Just don't forget to do everything using objects.
Pascal is better than C++ in that it is smaller and simpler and takes much less time to truly master. But boy, it's such a grammar nazi.
php. Yeech. Blarg. Gets the job done, though. If you work with small sets of simple data, utilizing the hardware at 1/20th of its capacity.
Proud owner of 1.5 kilograms of Germanium transistors
Cheb
Moon Senshi