Touhou Project

Talk about Video and Tabletop Games here.

Touhou Project

Postby Crescent Pulsar R » Sat Jun 11, 2011 7:08 pm

I started playing these games recently and they're fun even though they're challenging. The only real problem I have with them is that they require an amount of focus I usually don't have at my disposal.

Due to the aforementioned focus problem, I prefer using characters that have some homing or spread attacks, since I have trouble following the enemy's location and bullets/stuff around me at the same time (even in the case when a boss has an indicator at the bottom). I do use Marisa, at times, but I play a lot more aggressively and take more risks when I do. It's actually a bit more fun that way, when I'm not really trying to accomplish anything but survive.

The only ones I've finished so far: Embodiment of Scarlet Devil, Perfect Cherry Blossom, Imperishable Night, and Mountain of Faith. The only one I've finished without using a continue was Imperishable Night; that one seems to be the easiest to me, followed by Mountain of Faith.

The only boss I dislike are the Prismriver sisters. The fourth stage of Perfect Cherry Blossom in its entirety usually chisels away at least half of the lives I have by that point. I've yet to play the game enough times to really figure out how to defeat them without losing so many lives.

Of course, if I had more of a mind to take advantage of my bombs, I probably wouldn't lose so many lives. For some reason it just doesn't occur to me to use bombs all that much. I guess I just get too involved in dodging, if I still see a way that I might avoid getting hit. Most of the time I die because of a mistake on my part, so of course running into something unexpectedly doesn't give me time to use a bomb.